2011 Man Booker Prize shortlist announced

2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction
Shortlist announced

The Man Booker Prize has been described variously as ‘Posh bingo' and ‘the indispensable literary thermometer'. Whatever your view, each year the prize promotes the finest in new fiction and rewards the year's best novel, securing international renown for its shortlisted and longlisted authors and giving book lovers worldwide a choice reading list.
With such differing titles on this year's shortlist, there is sure to be great debate over who will win the coveted prize on 18 October. The judges' selection includes two first time novelists - Stephen Kelman and A.D. Miller - while four of the books are from independent publishers. Of the six writers, two have enjoyed success with the prize in the past. Julian Barnes has been shortlisted three times for Arthur and George (2005), England, England (1998) and Flaubert's Parrot (1984), while Carol Birch was longlisted in 2003 for Turn Again Home. Two Canadian writers feature on the shortlist - Patrick deWitt and Esi Edugyan - along with four British novelists.
The shortlist was announced by Chair of Judges, author and former Director-General of MI5 Dame Stella Rimington, at a press conference held at Man's London headquarters.
The six books, selected from the longlist of 13, are:

Julian Barnes, The Sense of an Ending (Jonathan Cape - Random House)
Carol Birch,  Jamrach's Menagerie (Canongate Books)
Patrick deWitt,  The Sisters Brothers (Granta)
Esi Edugyan,  Half Blood Blues (Serpent's Tail)
Stephen Kelman,  Pigeon English (Bloomsbury)
A.D. Miller,  Snowdrops (Atlantic)
Chair of judges, Dame Stella Rimington, comments: "Inevitably it was hard to whittle down the longlist to six titles. We were sorry to lose some great books. But, when push came to shove, we quickly agreed that these six very different titles were the best."
The winner of the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction will be announced on Tuesday 18 October at a dinner at London's Guildhall and will be broadcast on the BBC. The winner will receive £50,000 and each of the six shortlisted authors, including the winner, will receive £2,500 and a designer bound edition of their book. Last year's winner, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson, has sold over 250,000 copies in the UK alone.
Source press release

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...